Fitness Diary

I have a confession to make: I love working out.

When i get into a regular regimen that is.

Right now, i am really keen to get started..i have been, however i find that starting out is the hardest. What with the achy muscles and joints and your body screaming “NOOO!”

Many fitness gurus will tell you that it is 80% of what you consume and 20% of how much physical activity you put in: limit the red meat and alcohol intake, fewer sweet pastries, more and more fibre aka enjoy fruits and vegetables as well as drink lots of water. This sounds about right to me.

Once upon a time i had a six pack that rivaled all my male friends. We used to work out together, doing crunches and racing each other to school. I had toned arms, quick mind..then for whatever dumb reason, i stopped. All it takes is for you to miss one day and ignore your muscles and psyche and conscience that are asking for a run day after day. So sad. 

Then i took up yoga and again i stopped. 

All year long i have been coaxing myself to take up some regimen. I started by walking an hour a day but now i feel like it is time for something more. 

Yoga is what i have come up with.

Ultimately i want to be able to do this:

v\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
o\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
w\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
.shape {behavior:url(#default#VML);}

Image                 

and this

Image

…and hold these positions for me than a few seconds.

In addition to this, i am contemplating an offer to do a few sessions of Muay Thai boxing. This sport requires you to have on special gear like, ankle support, boxing gloves, shorts and protective gear..daunting stuff! I don’t know if i am ready for this.

All of this is so that i can participate in the StanChart Marathon set for later this year.

Plus given my family history of diabetes, high blood pressure and cancer, i am on the right track, right?

Here are the challenges that face me:

  • Get STARTED
  • Keep at it
  • Change up the sessions
  • Get back my abs

Week 1

I intend to start off with yoga and some light running 4 times a week. Pacing myself of course

One challenge for me is to GET STARTED!!

So as the weeks roll by i will try new things and let you know how it all goes, complete with the achy muscles, creaky joints and loss of weight and centimetres.

First step however is to get those measurements.

Anybody care to join me? The more the merrier.

My Mantra

The pain of yesterday is the strength of tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

